Avengers: Age of Ultron Movie Review

What more do you need to watch this movie?

What more do you need to watch this movie?

Oh dear God, I stopped posting for like a month. I’ve been really busy and stuff, but I really wish I’d done something. Anyway, this is my review of the new Avengers movie!

Spoilers follow.

So the Avengers are back. That needs to be addressed in itself. The story was a logical continuation of the last movie, with the team fully formed from the very first scene (no frickin’ origin story this time!) taking down Hydra bases. Eventually, Tony Stark and Bruce Banner make and awaken an artificial intelligence powered by the Mind Gem (which was hidden in Loki’s scepter, explaining the mind control thing from the last movie), which proceeds to take some bodies and attack, borrowing some Nazi experiments (Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch weren’t Inhumans after all!) as assistants.

Okay, the plot totally worked for me. It mostly made sense, and scenes flowed smoothly. I thought the action sequences were excellent (especially the first and last ones!), but there were just too many eventually, especially when the non-violent scenes are so incredible-Joss Whedon, man. That dialogue. The best scenes are where he just lets 2 or more characters play off each other and make use of his banter-writing skills.

Speaking of which, the cast is incredible! Robert Downey Jr. kicked customary ass, Mark Ruffalo was fantastic, both Scarlett Johansson and Jeremy Renner got to flesh out their characters more (especially Renner, which made me very happy), Chrisses Hemsworth and Evans were both as good as ever, Don Cheadle was the funniest character in the whole movie… I could go on. Paul Bettany, having moved into an actual body from JARVIS, was great, but so underused! His powers randomly showed up without warning and we only saw any of them once or twice. However, the fact that he can lift Thor’s hammer, and that scene in general, sold me on the character, combined with his really cool levitation thing. Cool guy. Quicksilver was also good but underused. His few lines were good (the accent was kind of meh, Taylor-Johnson), and his physicality was fantastic-I honestly believed that he believed he was faster than anything ever to come his way. And the scene where he gets grazed with a bullet from the army made me laugh out loud (not rare in this movie, but always appreciated). I honestly wish he lived, though-not because I didn’t like the death, which was amazing, but I want to see more of him! I wouldn’t even care if they resurrected this guy again just so see more of him and Hawkeye. (“No one would know… “) Elizabeth Olsen, however, really sold her every moment. Nailed almost every second on screen. Man, those Maximoffs.

Okay, Ultron gets his own paragraph. The special effects for his body were great, and James Spader effectively channeled “evil robot Tony Stark” while making his own person out of it (although the God stuff got old after a while, but I suffered through it).  My main complaint: are his cheeks speakers? What’s up with that?

My favorite moments were: everything with Hawkeye, when Tony Stark finds a secret door at the beginning of  the movie, and the Thor hammer scene. (If you put the hammer in a cardboard box, can you pick up the box? How about if you put the hammer on something in space and move that? Confusing… )

I loved the ending, and I kind of want a movie or TV show before Infinity War showing us how this new team works (Korvac seems unused… ), and resurrecting Quicksilver, obviously. (Pleeeeeeease… I just want to see him more… )

Okay, as soon as I post this, I’ll think of a thousand things I didn’t say, but to be honest, I want to stop. I’m not a fan of writing movie reviews.

Ciao!

7 responses to “Avengers: Age of Ultron Movie Review

  1. Quicksilver was killed off to spite Fox, I’m sorry but he’s never coming back. Except in flashbacks. And in Marvel Zombies. And as a guest star on everyone’s favourite conceptual cop show “Aquaman and Namor: Sea Cops”.
    On the bright side we’ll always have Kosovia.

  2. Hey, I changed my commenting name to a reference woo!

  3. It’s a Daedric prince! Watch the elder scrolls lore video on youtube. Incidentally, have you seen No Country For Old Men? It’s brilliant!

  4. That I shall!

Leave a Reply

